21 islands in Andaman named after Param Vir Chakra Awardees

2023-01-23 16:19:14 Marine News

Twenty-One large unnamed islands of Andaman and Nicobar were named after Param Vir Chakra awardees in a ceremony attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the occasion of Parakram Diwas.

He also unveiled the model of the National Memorial dedicated to Netaji to be built on Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Dweep, earlier known as Ross Islands.

The National Memorial dedicated to Netaji will have a museum, a cable car ropeway, a laser-and-sound show, a guided heritage trail through historical buildings and a theme-based children's amusement park, besides a Restro lounge

The 21st century is seeing how Netaji Subhash, who was tried to be forgotten after independence, the country is remembering the same Netaji every moment.

“For decades, there was a demand to declassify the files related to Netaji. The country also did this work with full devotion,”  the Prime Minister said in a statement.

Union home minister Amit Shah was present at the ceremony in Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Speaking at the event, Shah said Prime Minister Narendra Modi's initiative to name islands after Param Vir Chakra awardees will ensure they are remembered forever.

The largest unnamed island was named after the first Param Vir Chakra awardee, Major Somnath Sharma, who was martyred in action on November 3, 1947 while repulsing Pakistani infiltrators near Srinagar Airport.

This step will be an everlasting tribute to our heroes, several of whom had made the ultimate sacrifice to protect the sovereignty and integrity of the nation,” the Prime Minister's Office said.

Other Marine News