## Celebrating Maritime Excellence at AGMS 2024 and AGMA 2024

## **Panel Discussions and Technical Sessions**

AGMS 2024 featured two significant panel discussions and an engaging Fireside Chat in which Capt. Karan Kochhar, Capt. Arun Mehta, Capt. Man Mohan Saggi, Ms. Sonali Banerjee, Capt. AshutoshApandkar, Capt. Ajay Gangadharan, Mr. Sunil Kumar, C/E Mr. Koki Pannerselvam, Mr. NipunChatrath and Capt. K. Karthik, Capt. Arvind Shankar and Capt. SundeepInkurthy have shared their intellectual inputs. **Dr Sangeetha Albin**, the convener of the AGMS 2024 and Additional Registrar of AMET has coordinated technical sessions covered themes such as Maritime Education and Training, Maritime Technology Innovations, Maritime Management Strategies, and Maritime Sustainability, with over 70 research and lead articles presented by industry professionals and academicians.

## **Valedictory Ceremony and AGMA Awards 2024**

His Excellency Mr. HaymandoyalDillum, CSK, High Commissioner, High Commission of the Republic of Mauritius, New Delhi delivered the Chief Guest Address at the Valedictory Ceremony and presented AGMA Awards 2024. He praised AMET University for its dedication to maritime education and emphasized the critical role of maritime trade in the economy. He highlighted challenges such as maritime safety, security, and environmental issues, while also recognizing opportunities in elearning, professional development, and capacity building.

The prestigious AGMA Awards 2024 honoured outstanding individuals and institutions in the maritime industry. AGMA 2024 Awardees are: **AGMA Maritime Leadership Award 2024 — Individual Category:** Ms. Nynne Norman Scheuer, Senior Director, Head of Marine People & Culture, A.P. Moller-Maersk, Denmark; **AGMA Maritime Leadership Award 2024 — Individual Category:** VADM Eduardo Ma R Santos, AFP (RET), President of the Maritime Academy of Asia and the Pacific (MAAP), Philippines; **AGMA Maritime Excellence Award 2024 — Institution Category:** The Maritime Academy of Asia and the Pacific (MAAP), Philippines; **AGMA Maritime Innovation Award 2024 — Innovation Category:** Mr. Suraj Singh, Founder CEO of Seaker Systems Pvt. Ltd., Maharashtra, India.

In his commendation address, **Dr. J Ramachandran** emphasized the importance of fostering maritime excellence and innovation to address future challenges in the industry. He highlighted the strong partnership between Maersk and AMET, particularly their collaborative efforts in establishing the Maersk Centre of Excellence that provides Admission with Appointment order to maritime cadets. The event concluded with a vote of thanks by **Dr. Deepa Rajesh**, Vice President (Academics) and Convener AGMA 2024, acknowledging the dedicated efforts of the organizing committee, distinguished guests, panelists, speakers, and participants.

The AMET Global Maritime Summit (AGMS) and AMET Global Maritime Awards (AGMA) will continue to serve as premier platforms for recognizing and promoting excellence in the maritime sector.

## **PHOTOS RELATED TO THE EVENT:**







